London Fashion Week Day 1 Bora Aksu Pre-collection SS13

Unfortunately as I am currently moving into my Parisian apartment right smack bang in the middle of THE fashion season, I have to grin and bear the fact that I will be watching the catwalk shows from my macbook. It never is the same but I’ll be back to it in February.

So this season I shall be picking my favourite designers, watching their live-streams and giving you a quick round-up.

Let me start with Bora Aksu – ever since his graduation from Central St Martins in 2002, the Turkish designer has never lost favour with the fash pack. Today’s catwalk show lived up to Aksu’s undying reputation for dark romanticism. For his pre-collection ss13 Aksu took inspiration from Marie, Queen Victoria’s grand-daughter who became the Queen of Romania.

Garment themes: Lace, textured tulle, drapery, floating fabrics, fluid lines, sketch-like motifs, peter-pan collars.

Models were made over into royal poupettes by legendary make-up artist Ellis Faas. The look was finished with a crochet crown.

Light colours of  powder blue, moonlight blue, lavender contrasted beautifully with canary yellow, rouge and maroon.

www.boraaksu.com

www.ellisfaas.com

Leave a Reply

